The ESCAPE External Advisory Board (E-EAB) is a group of independent experts, closely associated with the ESFRI projects, other related Research Infrastructures and Industry, who will ensure the optimal alignment of the work in ESCAPE with the needs of the ESFRI facilities. Members of the E-EAB are proposed by ESCAPE Coordinator and approved by the ESCAPE General Assembly.


Who are the External Advisory Board members?


Christophe Arviset

Affiliation: European Space Agency
Country: Spain

Christophe Arviset is the Head of the Data Science and Archives Division,  within the Science and Operations Department of ESA’s Directorate of Science at the European Space Astronomy Centre (ESAC) in Spain, close to Madrid. This includes the ESAC Science Data Centre, hosting data archives of more than 20 ESA space science missions, various data science activities in this context, as well as responsibility of technical IT infrastructure and services and other cross missions engineering activities to support Science Operations at ESA.

  Linkedin  |    Twitter

Andreas Haungs

Affiliation: Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Country: Germany

Andreas Haungs is senior researcher at and deputy head of the Institute for Astroparticle Physics at KIT  working on high-energy multi-messenger astroparticle physics and in particular on cosmic rays at IceCube, the Pierre Auger Observatory and the KASCADE-Grande experiment. He is also experienced in detector developments and aspects of the digitization of the research field.  He is currently the Chair of the APPEC Consortium.

  Linkedin  |    Twitter

Karl Jakobs

Affiliation: University of Freiburg
Country: Germany

Karl Jakobs is a Professor of Physics at the University of Freiburg (since 2003). His main activities of research are the study of the Higgs particle and the search for extensions of the Standard Model of particle physics at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN. He participated in leading roles in experiments at CERN and at the US laboratory Fermilab/Chicago. From 2017 – 2021 he was Scientific Leader (Spokesperson) of the ATLAS Experiment. At present he is the Chairperson of the European Committee for Future Accelerators (ECFA). 


Marek Lewitowicz

Affiliation: Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee
Country: France

Prof. Dr Marek Lewitowicz is the Chairman of the Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee (NuPECC), one of the Expert Committees of ESF. He is working as a Research Director of the Centre National de Recherche Scientifique in the French national laboratory GANIL in Caen. He holds a PhD in nuclear physics of the Institute of Nuclear Studies at Swierk near Warsaw and he was appointed as professor of physics by the President of Poland.


Colin Vincent

Affiliation: Science and Technology Facilities Council
Country: United Kingdom

Dr Colin Vincent is Associate Director Astronomy, Programmes Directorate. He manages the UK Astronomy research programme for STFC, including subscription to ESO, and its ELT and the SKA. The programme supports a UK community of over 700 academics and over 1500 researchers across the UK, via grant awards, but also funds operation & development of new facilities. He is the vice chair of the Astronet Board, currently focussed on the realisation of a new Science Vision and Infrastructure Roadmap for Europe.